in ,

Homemade Tartar Sauce (Vegan) (Gluten-Free)

Homemade Vegan Tartar Sauce

It’s just so easy to make a vegan tartar sauce at home and it’s so good that you’ll never have to buy costly vegan tartar sauce from the store. Above all, this tartar sauce is more delicious than its store-bought counterpart.

You can remain confident that your homemade tartar sauce will blend all these elements: fresh, tasty, versatile (makes a great condiment for any type of dish), simple, time-saving, creamy, and a quick condiment for any event.

But, conventional tartar sauce is not vegan and we all know that.

However, if you are totally vegan and can’t eat eggs or dairy, this is a great alternative. Obviously, you can buy a store-bought tartar sauce product but the flavor and texture you’ll get from a homemade one is just better. On top of that, you will know what it’s inside exactly.

Tartar sauce is typically a sauce that accompanies fish and seafood meals and as a condiment for special fast foods. The basic recipe for making tartar sauce is based on mayo, with the addition of lemon, pickles, oil, and sometimes caper to add a more tangy note to the typical mayo base.

With that being said, we can easily prepare its vegan version. By simply switching the mayo with its vegan counterpart (homemade or store-bought), we can use pretty much the same ingredients as in a typical tartar sauce. Vegan food doesn’t have to be as challenging as people assume it may be.

Preparing a vegan tartar sauce at home is a piece of cake, and above all it tastes so much better than its store version. You may use this to complement nicely all vegan “seafood/fish-like” meals (we have a fish-like sticks vegan recipe for you to try out afterward).

We bet you’ll enjoy this vegan tartar sauce because it’s

  • Super easy and fast to prepare!

  • Needs only a few basic ingredients

  • Is free of gluten, eggs, and dairy!

Here are the basics for making vegan tartar sauce:

  • Vegan “Mayonnaise”. This will be the key ingredient and base of your sauce. There are several vegan mayo alternatives at the store or you can simply make your own in a few minutes.

  • Lemon juice. A tablespoon or light squeeze of lemon juice is not mandatory, however, it adds a more tangy and rich flavor to the sauce. If you don’t have fresh lemon to use, you can use bottled lemon juice from the store.

  • Relish/Chopped pickles. Here you can either use pickle relish or sweet relish. You may also cut pickles into small cubes if you don’t have prepared relish.

  • Dill. Dill is also not mandatory but we highly suggest that you add this as it adds a fresh herby flavor. If you don’t have fresh dill to chop up, you can use dried dill.

How Can I Make Vegan Tartar Sauce?

  1. Combine the vegan mayonnaise, relish/pickles, lemon juice and dill (optionally) in a small mixing or sauce bowl.

  2.  Keep stirring until creamy and smooth. Serve right away or keep in the fridge and serve later when you need it.

It’s as easy as it looks here. There is no reason to drop by the store and buy one when you can prepare this in just a few minutes!

What Vegan Mayo Type Is Best For This Vegan Tartar?

I have personally tried this recipe with different vegan mayo types but the differences were really subtle. I typically prepare and use my own homemade vegan mayo and it’s so easy to make as well.

Ingredients:

-½ cup vegan mayonnaise

-2 tbsp relish or chopped pickles

-1 tsp fresh or dry dill

-Small squeeze of lemon juice

Directions

  1. Combine everything in a small bowl.

  2. Keep stirring until well-combined.

  3. Serve right away or keep in the fridge for later use.

5/5 (2 Reviews)

What do you think?

Written by Emily

Comments

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Loading…

0
Vegan Pound Cake

Vegan Pound Cake Easy Recipe

Vegan Strawberry Cake Recipe

Fresh Strawberry Cake (Vegan)