Are Mike and Ikes Vegan? (Tested in 2022)

This post may contain affiliate links

So Are Mike and Ikes Vegan? It’s a yes and no, and the answer depends on many factors. There is no definite answer as to whether Mike and Ikes are vegan. Some vegans consider Mike and Ikes vegan-friendly as it does not strictly include any ingredients derived from animals. But, if you are a strict vegetarian, it’s not vegan because some ingredients used in Mike and Ikes do not conform to animal ethics. 

Despite these concepts, it is entirely healthy and safe to relish Mike and Ikes products. Regardless, we also understand that it is necessary to know the ingredients of a specific product, so you know what you are eating doesn’t affect your health.

Mike and Ikes candies are chewy and typically contain fruity flavors, but some products have different tastes. It is an enjoyable fruit candy that comes in various colors and tastes to tickle your taste buds. 

There are several reasons why people wonder if Mike and Ikes is vegan or not. It is because some products are vegan while others are not.

The surest way to find out whether Mike and Ikes is vegan or not is to examine the source of the ingredients and the components used in producing them. 

This article will help you find out and help you comprehend these essential distinctions on whether they are vegan or not.

Ingredients used in making Mike and Ikes

Ingredients in any food determine whether it is vegan or non-vegan. It is always advisable to look into the ingredients to know more about them because doing so will enable you to decide whether they are suitable to consume.

  • Sugar

  • Modified food starch

  • Corn syrup

  • Fumaric acid

  • Citric acid

  • Malic acid

  • Dextrin

  • Sodium citrate

  • Flavors: Natural and artificial 

  • Carnauba wax

  • Confectioners glaze

  • Medium-chain triglycerides

  • Yellow 5 and 6

  • Red 40

  • Blue 1

Are Mike and Ikes Vegan?

So let us research reasons why some consider them safe for vegan and some do not!

Reasons why some Mike and Ikes are not vegan

The ingredients are the essence of a by-product. Mike and Ikes candies use a significant amount of confectioner’s glaze. The candies in the packet come coated in a glossy layer giving them a smooth texture. 

However, this shiny coating bothers many vegans because of the confectioner’s glaze in the candy. For some, it is vegan, while for others, it is non-vegan. There are reasons to support this. 

Firstly, the shellac resins are secreted from Lac beetles without disturbing or harming them and without causing any environmental hazards since these resins are scrapped from the branches of a tree that the beetle discards.

However, some strict vegans believe it is a non-vegan product because the confectioner’s glaze comes from an animal as a by-product. So, this has given them enough apparent reason to presume shellac resin as non-vegan. The vegans believe this is a form of exploitation of bugs and is therefore unethical.

Another reason that doubts vegans is sugar as an ingredient in Mike and Ikes products. Sugar is extracted from sugar cane, a plant, but bone char is utilized to filter out the impurities during manufacturing. The bone char believed to come from animal bones has bothered strict vegans and prevented them from eating anything that has sugarcane extract.

Additionally, Mike and Ikes include other components like artificially added colors that are believed to be tested on animals before manufacturing. Nevertheless, some ingredients are not disclosed, making it hard for vegans to find out the source of the components.    

Reasons why some Mike and Ikes are vegan

Regardless of what some people say about Mike and Ikes being not vegan-friendly, you can still have a taste of the delicious candy because they contain natural ingredients that are safe and harmless to your health.

Mike and Ikes do not use egg albumin that comes from egg whites. The presence of egg albumin in candies gives them a chewy consistency. 

Again, Mike and Ikes do not use gelatin, a tasteless food ingredient derived from meat, a reason why some consumers take precautions before having anything that contains gelatin.

Another ingredient that most vegans dodge is red 4, used in coloring candies. This dye is extracted from beetles killed in large numbers to obtain some coloring. Therefore, vegans are cautious when they see red 4 as an ingredient. Fortunately, red 4 is not used in Mike and Ikes, making it safe to consume as a vegan. 

Different Varieties of Mike And Ikes

Apart from the authentic signature version of Mike and Ikes, there are other versions of the exceptional candies.

  • Mike and Ikes Megamix chewy candies and Mike and Ikes Mega Mix Sour Chewy Candies versions have the exact ingredients as the original, so you can go for one that suits your taste.

  • The Mike and Ikes Root Beer version contains similar ingredients as the original, but it has lactic acid that some vegans would consider non-vegan and unhealthy. The reason is that there is a synthetic kind of lactic acid that is produced through coal and crude oil. It is used as an additive in a small amount, so you don’t need to bother much about it.

  • Mike and Ikes Cherri And Bubb Bubble Gum contain Mike’s classic flavors along with an even mint taste.

  • Sour Green Apple Sours falls in the sour candies category with its green apple flavor that most candy lovers would die for.

  • Mike and Ikes Strawberry Reunion contains a unique mixture of sweet strawberry jam that could melt your taste buds.

  • Lime Original Fruits by Mike and Ikes has that tangy but sweet and refreshing lime flavor that you can treat yourself on a hot sunny day.

  • Mike and Ikes Buttered Popcorn is a perfect combination of butter and popcorn sold as small candies.

  • Cherry Cola by Mike and Ikes is a splendid combo of cherry and cola packed in retro-style, best suited for coke lovers.

  • Mike and Ikes Cotton Candy is widely enjoyed as an excellent treat favored especially by kids.

  • Mike and Ikes Fruit Punch gives that homemade fruit flavor that instantly brings a tropical vibe as it melts in your mouth.

  • The Caribbean Punch Tropical Typhoon by Mike and Ikes is all about freshness. The small blue-colored capsule-shaped candies will make you nostalgic for seas and beaches.

See Also:Are Skips Vegan?

Conclusion

Whether or not Mike and Ikes candies are vegan remains a debatable and controversial question. The high sugar content may be the reason for this controversy. 

Adopting a vegan lifestyle means enhancing one’s health and well-being, and the high sugar levels in candies can pose health risks, regardless of whether you are a vegan or not. 

It all relies on how strict a vegan you are, and many vegetarians take Mike and Ikes without any problems. 

5/5 (1 Review)
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share via
Send this to a friend