Are Zapp’s Chips Vegan? Definitive Answer in 2022!

This post may contain affiliate links

Zapp’s are crunchy potato chips made by Utz Quality Food. It was first introduced in 1985 and has become a favorite chip in America. Zapp’s offers a variety of flavors to suit the tastes of all people. But, one question remains: Are Zapp’s Chips Vegan?

Are Zapp’s Chips Vegan?

Zapp’s is a product of the Utz family. These are a Kettle Style potato chips from New Orleans. Zapp’s Chips are neither vegan certified or even Non-GMO, the majority of their chip varieties are vegan.

Zapp’s Kettle Potato chips Regular, Voodoo, and Spicy Cajun Crawtator can all be made vegan. There are many other flavors that can also be made vegan. However, natural flavors can be found in both animals and plants.

Potato chips can be vegan, but they are often made from potatoes. You’d be amazed at how many chips brands aren’t vegan-friendly.

Zappa’s vegan status table

 

Flavors Status
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Voodoo 100% Vegan
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Regular 100% Vegan.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Spicy Cajun, Crawtator 100% Vegan.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Voodoo Heat 100% Vegan, with natural flavors.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Evil Eye 100% Vegan, with natural flavors.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Jalapeno 100% Vegan, with natural flavors.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Salt & Vinegar No, it has Dairy.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Cajun Dill Gator- Tator 100% Vegan with natural flavors.
Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Mesquite BBQ 100% Vegan, comes with natural flavors.

 

Zapp’s Chips Ingredients

Let’s look at some of the ingredients in Zapp’s flavor.

I highlighted some ingredients we should be paying closer attention to.

  • Artificial aroma
  • Corn oil
  • Corn syrup
  • Cottonseed Oil
  • Dextrose
  • Canola Oil
  • Caramel color
  • Citric acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • The natural scent of chicory smoke
  • Smoke aroma
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Powder of onion
  • Paprika
  • Peanut oil
  • Pepper extracts
  • FD & C Red40 Lake
  • Garlic powder
  • Jalapeno pepper powder
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lactose
  • Malic acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Molasses
  • Potato
  • Safflower Oil
  • Sol
  • They are marine
  • Sodium citrate
  • Spices
  • Sunflower oil
  • Tamarind
  • Extract of Turmeric
  • Torula yeast

Non-vegan ingredients

Lactose

Lactose, a sugar derived from cow’s milk, is not vegan.

Questionable ingredients

Sugar

Although sugar and dextrose are suitable ingredients for vegans, the production of sugar in confectionery and snacks is not vegan. Cane sugar is the most popular type of cane sugar, while refined sugar is the most prevalent. This is because the sugar has been bleached to make it more suitable for sweets and snacks.

Bone charcoal from dead cows is a popular way to whiten sugar. While there is no evidence that bone charcoal could contaminate sugar, it is a popular way to make refined sugar non-vegan.

It is impossible to determine the source of Zapp’s sugar, but it could be be beets. They are vegan-friendly.

Artificial colors

Artificial colors are very common in the U.S. and it is still debated whether or not they are vegan-friendly. You can find artificial colors called red 40 lakes in Zapp’s Kettle Potato Chips Evil Eye. Animal testing continues to be conducted and there are many studies that link red 40 with health problems.

Red Lake 40 does not contain any ingredients from animals. However, the fact that they have to be eaten by animals is enough to make it non-vegan. There are two types of vegans: ethical vegans and diet vegans.

Artificial colors would be suitable for vegans who are not vegan, but not ethical vegans. There are many other testing methods available today, including advanced computer simulations. Animal testing would not be necessary.

Soybeans and corn

Soy and corn are both vegan-friendly. They contain no ingredients from animals. GMOs are a problem. GMO crops need a lot more herbicides to produce good yields, which has a negative impact on the environment around the farms.

Water contamination can lead to serious consequences for animals and insects.

Natural flavors

Natural flavors are a broad term that can make it awkward. Companies can use whatever flavor they like and place them under natural flavors. This ingredient can also contain ingredients of animal or plant origin. However, the company cannot discover the source.

National Geographic has an article that confirms a strange ingredient found in vanilla aromas. The FDA approved the ingredient as it is a mix of beaver and sage.

This was amazing. It just goes to show that vegans should be cautious about eating different flavors and natural flavorings. To be certain, contact the company to request a source.

Share the image below to your Pinterest board and share the news about these delicious Zapp’s Chips, the vegan ones I mean 🙂

Are Zapp's Chips Vegan

Why are Zapp’s Voodoo chips so good?

Zapp’s Voodoo chips are a people’s favorite, seasoned with salt, smokey BBQ, vinegar, and sweet and spicy jalapeno. The rich flavor combination is what makes Zapp’s chips so famous, and on top of that, they are kettle-cooked for added crunch.

Zapp’s Voodoo chips are fried with peanut oil, so keep that in mind if you are allergic to peanuts.

Are Zapp's Chips Vegan?

Zapp’s Voodoo chips were made by accident

According to the firm, Voodoo was created after an employee accidentally dumped a pallet of spices. While the staff was cleaning up, somebody with extremely high hygiene standards dipped their finger into a mixture of roughly five flavors and deemed it excellent.

It would be the best Zapp’s background if it weren’t for Brent’s amusing narrative.

Conclusion

Zapp’s delicious flavors can be enjoyed by both vegetarians and vegans. Natural aromas can be confusing because they are not always clear from where they came from. This shouldn’t bother anyone. There are many other flavors available.

It is difficult to be vegan in today’s world. This is why I wrote this article. The ingredients in the plan might not be all that you need to know about its origins or manufacturing process.

5/5 (1 Review)
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share via
Send this to a friend