Are Donuts Vegan? These are the Best Options in 2024

This post may contain affiliate links

Sharing is caring!

So are donuts vegan? Follow along to find out. Each year, 10 billion donuts are made in the United States alone, which is not unexpected given the number of fast-food restaurants specializing in their manufacture.

In truth, when I think of doughnuts, I picture Krispy Kreme, Dunkin’ Donuts, and Tim Hortons and how beautiful their ring-shaped, glaze-covered treats are.

Are Donuts Vegan?

Regrettably, most doughnuts are not vegan since they are produced with animal products such as milk or eggs. But you can make vegan doughnuts yourself. Some vegan doughnut businesses may be found throughout the United States, and we’ve selected some of the most fantastic vegan donut stores in the country. If they are not readily available where you are, you may make them yourself without requiring possessing chef-caliber abilities.

Can you make vegan donuts?

To begin with the disappointing news, traditional doughnuts are not vegan. And by typical donuts, we mean those seen at hot doughnut carts, in most stores, or those that haven’t been labeled as acceptable for vegans or vegetarians.

Check out our Vegan Doughnuts Easy Recipe Here!

are donuts vegan?

Because of the ingredients, traditional doughnuts are not vegan. A conventional donut’s standard component list includes:

  • All-purpose Flour

  • Baking Powder

  • Butter

  • Eggs

  • Milk

  • Oil

  • Sugar

  • Salt

We can observe right away that there are three essential animal products: Traditional donuts include eggs, milk, and butter, which means they are inappropriate for individuals who follow a vegan diet.

Even so, as vegans, we know that advances in food science and preparation have resulted in superb vegan equivalents for practically everything – notably eggs and dairy! That implies that, while the classic, unlabeled doughnut is usually best avoided, vegans are not permanently barred from consuming them. Thus, they only need to be creative in changing those three minor elements!

Eggs and donuts

Eggs are a significant element in traditional doughnuts. Eggs in classic donuts give the batter an aerated feel and help it stick together.

However, as we now see, many classic baking recipes need eggs, and vegans have devised inventive substitutes, including specialized vegan eggs.

So, what may be substituted for eggs in a doughnut batter? We appreciate your inquiry. The vegan egg alternatives listed below have all been shown to work!

Egg replacements that are vegan

  • Baking Soda

  • Mashed Banana

  • Nut Butter

  • Soy Yogurt

  • Tofu

  • Vegan Egg Replacers

Donuts and milk

Like with eggs, dairy is required to prepare any type of traditional cake batter, most significantly, milk and butter.

Vegans, on the other hand, would know that dairy is even simpler to replace than eggs – just look at the enormous variety of vegan milk alternatives. So, for replacing the milk and butter, adding moisture, and thinning the consistency of your vegan doughnut batter, the following are all excellent options:

Dairy alternatives for vegans

  • Almond Milk

  • Coconut Milk

  • Flora margarine 

  • Flora plant butter

  • I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter! Spread

  • Organic vegan butter

  • Rice Milk

  • Soy Milk

  • Wheat Milk

Is a doughnut a vegetarian food?

Though we’ve established that regular donuts aren’t acceptable for vegans, you may be curious if they’re 100 % vegetarian as well.

The difference between typical donuts and those acceptable for vegans and vegetarians is that vegans do not consume any animal products, whether meat or byproducts such as milk or eggs. Vegetarian diets, on the other hand, typically avoid animal meat while including animal byproducts.

This means that, depending on their tastes, most vegetarians can safely consume classic doughnuts.

There are, however, several exceptions to be aware of. For example, to improve the flavor or texture of their donuts, some bakery businesses may utilize artificial sweeteners, gelatin, and animal enzymes.

Gelatin and animal enzymes, in particular, are not vegetarian since they are produced from animal flesh. In addition, certain artificial sweeteners are also generated from animal meat, making them inappropriate for vegetarians. Thus, vegetarians should verify the labeling and ingredients beforehand.

Vegan Donuts in the United States

Voodoo Doughnut

People can’t get enough of this unique Portland doughnut shop’s voodoo doll-shaped donuts and vibrant mood, which has swiftly evolved into a countrywide franchise. Vegans can choose from a jelly-filled, peanut butter-glazed variant to the iconic voodoo doll yeasted doughnut loaded with raspberry jelly and garnished with chocolate glazing and a pretzel stick through the “heart” at all national stores.

Donut Friend

How long will you stand in line for a doughnut? This little Highland Park vegan doughnut store always has a line out the door, and during festivals, the typical wait is an hour. Doughnut Friend’s Instagram-worthy concoctions taste just as impressive as they appear. There’s a donut to suit every taste and style with dozens of outrageous variations. The Youth Brûlée, a bullseye doughnut filled with Bavarian cream and topped with brûléed sugar, is one of the most popular tastes. Don’t see anything you like? You can personalize your own doughnut, allowing you to create the ultimate sugar high.

Dun-Well Doughnuts

Although this Brooklyn doughnut business is entirely vegan, Food & Wine Magazine named it one of America’s Best Donut Shops. The bakery sells a wide assortment of sweets, including raised, cake, and filled kinds, all complemented with delectable glazes and toppings based on the day’s assortment. Try not to choose just one. Instead, order a baker’s dozen with your buddies.

Peaceful Provisions

t’s fine to be a square. This New York pop-up bakery produces amazing, elevated doughnuts with unusual ingredients and designs. Try the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, which is filled with cookie dough, covered with chocolate frosting, and topped with vanilla glaze. If you’re eyeing something even more decadent, go for the extremely chocolaty Chocolate Ganache or the Vanilla Crème Brûlée.

Karma Baker

If you can’t decide whether to eat cake or donuts, have both. With the Unicorn Donut, Karma made quite a stir around its allergen-friendly doughnuts. Vegan buttermilk vanilla or chocolate cake doughnut is encased in vegan white or milk chocolate and generously decorated with giant sprinkles and a unicorn horn in these delicacies. These baked delicacies have a more solid, cake-like feel than fried snacks. They are, however, delicious, juicy, and oh-so-trendy. Drop by the store in Westlake Village, California, or have them shipped to your house anywhere in the United States.

Erin McKenna’s Bakery

Erin McKenna’s gluten-free doughnuts bring happiness to people throughout the country, with stores in New York, Orlando, and Los Angeles. Her cake donuts are wonderfully lovely and always give customers attention. It’s uncommon to come into her shop and not see someone staring wistfully through the glass case at the doughnuts. The mocha and Samoa are filled with drizzles and toppings, while the cinnamon sugar and lovely pink glazed alternatives are simpler but equally delightful.

Vegan Treats

Located in a tiny town in Pennsylvania, This fully vegan firm was rated one of the top bakeries in the world by American Express, and their donuts surely contributed to that achievement. The store offers over a dozen variations, with toast and cake tastes ranging from Vanilla Soy Chai to Bavarian Cream. At previous pop-ups, the brand even introduced a funnel cake doughnut. Visit them in Bethlehem, Pa., or at one of their pop-ups throughout the country.

Tandem Donuts

Tandem Donuts has fulfilled the request for vegan donuts in rural Montana, where one would not expect to find many. This wholesale bakery provides donuts to a few Missoula, Montana, cafés and markets and hosts the odd pop-up for consumers who can’t get enough. Each cake donut is uniquely flavored and glazed, unlike the typical maple bar or plain blueberry donut. Try the Turkish Coffee, a cardamom donut covered with creamy coffee glaze and chocolate ganache, or the Apricot Rose, a rosewater-glazed apricot doughnut.

Beet Box Bakery

Simple pleasures are what life is really all about, and you can enjoy them at Denver’s Beet Box Bakery. These basic baked cake donuts have persuaded even the most suspicious omnivores into faithful fans, having been named Best Donuts by Westword’s Best of Denver in 2016. Chocolate, pumpkin, apple, and vanilla are the four basic tastes, all covered with a heaping dollop of smooth frosting. Yet, donuts do not have to be complicated to be tasty. Beet Box doughnuts are pure, unadulterated bliss.

What vegan doughnuts are available in the UK?

There has recently been an increase in the number of vegan doughnut options in the UK. These vegan donuts not only include vegan replacements in their ingredients but their toppings and contents are also vegan friendly, providing a variety that is sure to satisfy any vegan sweet craving!

We’ve compiled a list of prominent vegan donuts in the United Kingdom.

Doughnut Time

Doughnut Time is a bakery that specializes in making completely unique and tasty donuts! Moreover, they have a vegan menu with donuts decorated with buttercream, jam, frosting, and even vegan chocolate drizzle. All of their vegan donuts are labeled with a (VG), and their website allows you to search through their menu to find exclusively vegan doughnuts.

While Doughnut Time’s vegan doughnuts do not include milk or eggs, they do advise clients with allergies that both milk and egg components are present in their kitchens, so this is something to keep in mind when purchasing.


Greggs is a well-known UK bakery brand noted for its low prices and wide range of baked products. Thankfully, vegans may now get their dose as well! They first introduced a vegan sausage roll and now have a delectable glazed vegan doughnut. Though it is now the only vegan donut option on their menu, it is doubtful to be the last.

Crosstown Doughnuts

Crosstown Bakery, like Doughnut Time, is a bakery that specializes in doughnuts: but not just any doughnuts. Instead, crosstown Doughnuts offers a variety of handmade doughnuts, and more of their donuts are vegan than not! Some of their vegan replacement components include chia seeds and coconut butter. In addition, they have a range of exciting flavors to select from, like Peanut Butter & Blackcurrant Compote, Tongan Vanilla Bean Glaze, and Mango with Chipotle Chili!

Which doughnuts at the grocery are vegan?

Several supermarkets in the United Kingdom now sell their own varieties of vegan doughnuts. Although most of these options are somewhat restricted in terms of flavor (for instance, not many provide frosted rings), they are still a respectable alternative. Vegan doughnuts are available in the following supermarkets:

  • Co-op: The Co-op pioneered supermarket vegan doughnut products by making jam and custard-filled doughnuts, earning an award for Best Accidental Vegan Product in 2018. They’re both vegan, plus the custard version has dairy-free custard!

  • Tesco: While Tesco does not sell its own vegan-friendly donuts, it does utilize one of its vegan partners, Wicked Kitchen, to produce vegan jazzy jam doughnuts filled with apple and raspberry jam.

  • Marks & Spencer: At certain times of the year, Marks & Spencer sells frozen vegan doughnuts filled with coconut caramel, passion fruit, and lime. But besides the frozen label, the donuts can be cooked in about 10 minutes and are just as tasty as their non-frozen cousins.

Make Your Own Vegan Donuts

Vegans can always make their own! Because the three main components of classic donuts can be readily swapped, it’s simple to bake or fry your own vegan option.

Try this recipe

YouTube video

Or this one Vegan Boston Cream Donuts Recipe

So, Are Donuts Vegan?

Both yes and no! Traditional donuts are not vegan, owing to the use of eggs, milk, and butter. However, non-traditional doughnuts such as those supplied by famous bakeries and vegan businesses are! Furthermore, your own handmade vegan doughnuts are just as easy to prepare and just as wonderful, so you don’t have to forego the regular kinds.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments