Are Gushers Vegan? Updated Info in 2022

This post may contain affiliate links

If you like these sweets and want to know are gushers vegan, well follow along, we got the right answer for you.

We don’t know how many times we have waited in line at the grocery store for an item that was cruelty-free only to find animal byproducts in the ingredients.

Are Gushers Vegan? 

General Mills, the company behind Fruit Gushers has decided to make it public. What was the verdict? Fruit Gushers don’t contain animal by-products. Fruit Gushers can be described as a vegan product.

Are you looking for an aperitif to go with your meal? Here are some vegan gushers.

are gushers vegan
Let’s discuss the ingredients

Finding vegan fruit snacks can be difficult, even if you just walk down an aisle to your local grocery.

There are some ingredients you should avoid when looking for vegan fruit snacks.

It gelatin is a product of animal origin, which some people don’t know. It is primarily made from the skin and bones, particularly of cows and pigs. Gelatin can also be found in vegan foods such as yogurts, baked goods, cakes, and chewed fruits.

Carnauba wax is another ingredient vegans should avoid. Carnauba wax, which is made from leaves of palm trees is used to shine and luster cars, floors, and shoes. It is not surprising that vegans who are concerned about their health may be concerned to learn that the same ingredient found in their chewed fruit has been used in fights and card lands.


Note on food coloring

Gushers also contain food coloring. It’s a risky ingredient for vegans. Many foods contain food colorings such as yellow 5, red 1, and 40.

What is the problem exactly? The food colorings red 1 and 40 are made from oil, tar, coal, and molasses. These two food colorings were so alarming that they were eventually banned from countries like Belgium, France, and Denmark. These colors are not being discontinued in the United States, however.

The ingredient yellow food color 5 has been known to cause hyperactivity and allergic reactions in children. Glycerin, an odorless and colorless liquid, is used in many snacks as a preservative. It can be eaten as a vegetable, but vegans should seek out glycerin from animals. This is because it will contain animal fat.

General Mills claims that Fruit Gushers are vegan because they do not contain animal products. Although it is nice for food manufacturers and distributors to confirm that the product is vegan, it is always better to check the ingredients yourself.

 

In this note, you will find the Fruit Gushers ingredients list.

are gushers vegan- ingredients

  • Sugar
  • Dry corn syrup
  • Corn syrup
  • fructose
  • Grape juice
  • Cottonseed oil
  • Maltodextrin
  • Carrageenan
  • Citric acid
  • Glycerin
  • Monoglycerides
  • Sodium citrate
  • Malic acid
  • Ascorbic acid
  • Natural flavor
  • Potassium citrate
  • Agar-agar
  • Red 40
  • Xanthan gum


Make your own fruit gushers

You can make your own Fruit Gushers if you wish to eliminate some of the undesirable ingredients in the commercial version.

Here’s how to make grocery shopping at home using fruit skins purchased in the supermarket and a filling you choose. This video includes jelly in the filling. If you prefer a vegan version of the recipe, you can drop this ingredient.

YouTube video

Here are some tips to help you make your own gushers at-home

  • The store purchased vegan fruit skins
  • You can choose the fruit juice you prefer
  • A vegan thickener, such as chia seeds gel or vegan yogurt
  • Light corn syrup
  • A silicone tray


Directions

Fill in your gushers first. To give the juice the same consistency as the brand you bought at the store, you can add chia seed gel or any other thickener.

Bring the juice to a boil. Once it has boiled, add the light corn syrup and chia seed gel.

After it is done, place it in the refrigerator for 2 hours.

Next, cut the vegan fruit skin in small squares or circles and place them on a silicone tray.

Place the mixture of fruit juice and fruit peel on small pieces.

Add a small piece of fruit skin to the top, and then pinch to seal it.

Place in the freezer for 5 minutes to set. Enjoy.

This recipe will eliminate all other ingredients that you don’t need. It will also be enjoyable to make.

 

Are Gushers Vegan? Final Verdict!

Fruit Gushers can be made dairy-free or vegan.

You and your family can still enjoy fruit snacks from time to time, even if you are vegan. You can also make your own if you don’t want to purchase it at the grocery store. Comment below if you enjoyed this article. Do you think you will try the gushers once more? Or is it too late to discover that there’s another fruit snack you can enjoy? Tell us!

5/5 (1 Review)
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share via
Send this to a friend