Are Skittles Vegan? Updated Info in 2022!

This post may contain affiliate links

This blog delves into the most often asked topics about vegan-friendly candies: Are Skittles Vegan?

Yes! Skittles Original flavor is suitable for vegans because they are 100% plant-based. In addition, skittles and other sweets stopped using gelatin in their recipes in 2010, rendering them vegan compatible. While the labels still include “Natural Flavors” that might be derived from animals or plants, Peta has certified that Skittles are vegan.

Other Skittles varieties have different components than the original taste. As a result, the components of each Skittle type are assessed below.

Dietary analysis of Skittles

Skittles’ vegan status is determined by the components they contain. As of 2021, the following components are used in the original flavor of Skittles:

  • Sugar: Skittles are created with the same refined white sugar that you’ll find in most candy. It is made from the stalks of sugar cane and is processed into finer, whiter crystals.
  • Corn Syrup: It’s also known as glucose syrup, and it’s manufactured from corn starch. It’s utilized in a variety of ways in Skittles. It softens, increases volume, enhances flavor, and keeps sugar crystallization at bay.
  • Hydrogenated palm kernel oil: The kernels of the palm oil plant Elaeis guineensis are used to make this plant oil. It’s used in sweets to improve flavor and texture.
  • Citric acid: This is extracted from certain fruits, although it is synthesized in candy shops to make Skittles. It’s used to boost acidity, enhance taste, and keep items fresh.
  • Tapioca dextrin: This starch extract, obtained from the yucca plant or cassava root, is being used as a sticky candy coating and aids in the preservation of flavor and color.
  • Corn starch (modified):  This corn-based emulsifier and gelling ingredient contribute significantly to the gummy nature of Skittles.
  • Flavors, both natural and artificial:  Organizations normally don’t reveal the specifics of these tastes, but given what Skittles are, it’s a safe bet that they’re either natural fruit flavors or chemically manufactured to simulate fruit flavors.
  • Colors: Have you ever questioned why Skittles are so vibrant? Red 40 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, and titanium dioxide are all used in Skittles. These synthetic hues are created from petroleum ingredients.
  • Sodium citrate (salt): This is citric acid’s sodium salt. It serves as a protectant and has a tart taste.
  • Carnauba Wax: This is derived from the wax of the foliage of the Copernicia prunifera palm plant. It keeps the candy’s outside coat glossy and keeps it from melting.

Other Skittles varieties, such as Sour, Tropical, and Wild Berry, are primarily constructed of the same components. The primary distinctions are mainly the natural and artificial flavorings and the colors, which may vary somewhat.

A PSA about Skittles

It’s absolutely feasible that Skittles may release a limited-edition flavor that contains animal-derived substances that aren’t available in their normal tastes. If you wish to consume one of these and are vegan, be sure you carefully check the list of ingredients.

Skittles were not always vegan. Skittles were produced with gelatin until around 2010, which is obtained from animal collagen, a protein in connective tissues.

Gelatin is responsible for the chewy, gel-like feel of the candy. Unfortunately, gelatin is not vegan because it is derived from animals. But it was afterward eliminated from the sweets anyways.

Skittles also included carmine, commonly known as E120 or cochineal, a red coloring obtained from the Dactylopius coccus beetle until 2015.

Substances to be aware of if you’re vegan

Even though Skittles are vegan-friendly, some people may be apprehensive about a few substances. First, there’s processed cane sugar. This sort of white sugar may be treated with animal bone char to eliminate impurities and produce a white tint.

Then there’s palm oil. Although palm oil is not generated from animals, palm oil cultivation has a massive effect on the environment and wildlife.

Sugar

Sugar is one of the few components in practically all confectionery creations. Sugar is a contentious topic among vegans since processed cane sugar is treated with bone char to acquire its pure white hue. The sugar itself contains no bone char particles; however, it is not vegan due to the manufacturing procedures utilized. Because the kind of sugar is not usually specified, it is considered vegan in this assessment. If you are avoiding non-vegan sugars, you should eliminate all of the foods in this report.

Palm Fat and Oil

Palm oil is a contentious vegan component, even if it is not produced from animals. This is because palm oil farming has terrible environmental consequences and affects many species.

Flavorings, both natural and artificial

Natural flavors can be extracted from either animal or plant origins; however, natural flavors in sweets are mainly derived from plants. If possible, natural tastes of animal origin will be emphasized.

Colors

Some food colors are contentious in the vegan community. This is since food colors are frequently tested on animals. In this post, we presume that all food colors are vegan except when the color is directly from an animal or an insect (e.g., Carmine).

Frequently Asked Questions

Do Skittles Contain Gelatin?

Skittles and other sweets stopped incorporating gelatin in their goods in 2010. As a result, no Skittles varieties will include Gelatin in 2019.

Would Skittles be considered Halal?

Skittles contain no animal-derived components as of the publication of this post. As a result, Skittles are Halal.

Would Skittles be considered Kosher?

Skittles are Kosher-compliant since they contain no animal components. Although, they do not have a Kosher certification in the United States.

Are Sour Skittles Vegan?

Sour Skittles are vegan since all of the components are plant-based.

Are Wild Berry Skittles Vegan?

Wild Berry Skittles are vegan since all of the components are plant-based.

Are Tropical Skittles Vegan?

Tropical Skittles are vegan since all of the components are plant-based.

Are Brightside Skittles Vegan?

Brightside Skittles are vegan since all of the components are plant-based.

Are Sweets & Sours Skittles Vegan?

Sweets & Sours Skittles are vegan since all of the ingredients are plant-based.

Are Darkside Skittles Vegan?

Darkside Skittles are vegan since all of the components are plant-based.

Are Sweet Heat Skittles Vegan?

Sweet Heat Skittles are vegan since all of the components are plant-based.

See also: Are M&M’s Vegan?

Closing Statement

In conclusion, “Are Skittles Vegan?” Yes! Vegans can consume Skittles since all of the types tested are vegan-friendly. Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Tropical, Brightside, Sweets & Sours, Darkside, and Sweet Heat are among the vegan flavors available.

 

5/5 (1 Review)
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share via
Send this to a friend