This post may contain affiliate links
Are Dum Dums vegan? Short anwser, yes but it has some controversial ingredients. They are tempting and delicious; their chewy goodness is a perfect complement for any of your favorite drinks. They come in over 30 different flavors and are made from only the finest ingredients.
What is Dum Dums?
Dum Dums produce lollipops in a wide array of colors and shapes. The most common shape is the round, red heart-shaped lollipop that Dum Dums are best known for.
Dum Dums candies are made with sugar and corn syrup and come in a variety of flavors. Some popular flavors include blue raspberry, grape, orange, and strawberry. In addition to this, they come in other fun flavors like bubble gum or watermelon.
The Dum Dum lollipops are made using sugar, corn syrup, natural flavor, and vegetable oil. The production of the sugar and corn syrup is not from animals or animal derivatives, so Dum Dum lollipops are considered vegan-friendly.
Are Dum Dums Vegan?
Vegan friends, rejoice. Dum Dums are vegan. These simple little candies are also gluten-free, nut-free, and peanut-free, so they’re great for a variety of dietary needs.
The ingredients available in Dum Dums include sugar, corn syrup, modified food starch, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, natural flavorings, and artificial flavorings.
The artificial flavorings might not be so delicious to some vegans, but the first three ingredients include nothing that can be considered animal byproducts.
Some vegans may not consider Dum Dum candies safe to consume since they are made with food coloring, and their origin may be controversial, but Dum Dum assures that they are vegan safe.
What ingredients are available in Dum Dums?
Ingredients used in Dum Dums lollipops include sugar, glucose, water, corn syrup, natural and artificial flavors, citric acid, malic acid, carnauba wax, and artificial color (FD&C Red No. 40).
Carnauba wax consists of palm leaves, and carnaubas are known to be cultivated on farms that use animal-based products. You can have a vegan version of this candy if you choose Dum Dums without carnauba wax or artificial colors such as yellow 5 or red 40.
What’s the assurance that Dum Dums are Vegan?
Dum Dum lollipops are vegan-friendly. The Dum Dum brand is entirely Vegan so that you can enjoy your favorite flavors without any guilt.
The Dum Dum brand is a well-reputed business with over 100 years of experience creating delicious and safe treats for people worldwide. They take great care to provide you with a product that you will love and enjoy every time you indulge in their sweets. Now you can continue to enjoy your favorite candies without worrying about whether they contain any animal-derived ingredients or not!
See also: Are Converse Vegan?
The Dum Dums flavor assortment includes cherry, strawberry, grape, orange, lemon, watermelon, cola, bubble gum (blue and pink), and blue raspberry. The non-flavored candy comes in a variety of shapes, such as animals (panda bears, pigs, turtles), stars, and hearts (yellow or pink). Some of the most popular flavors include strawberry and blue raspberry. So to conclude, yes you can eat it with no guilt, but don’t go with them too much, as we know excess sugar is no good.