Making Vegan Marzipan is simple and easy, and one can prepare it in less than five minutes.
The Marzipan recipe slightly differs in ingredients from one culture to another. Traditionally, Marzipan is made with egg whites and other ingredients, including blanched almonds, sugar or honey, and water. Still, one can also make an egg-free or almond-based Marzipan.
The vegan Marzipan recipe is egg-free, so it is suitable for vegetarians or people who are allergic to eggs. It has a typical almond aroma, and the consistency looks like cookie dough. Also, a vegan Marzipan recipe includes natural gluten-free and sugar-free ingredients, which are safe and healthy for people of all ages.
You might have noticed those mouth-watering Marzipans in stores and wondered how it is made. But almost all store-bought Marzipans typically contain eggs or gelatin and are therefore considered not vegan.
Vegan or not, if you plan on making Vegan Marzipan at home, fret not, for we have just the right vegan Marzipan recipe for you. And thankfully, making egg-free or vegan Marzipan is effortless and does not require much time.
You can scroll down to get more tips and hints and follow the step-by-step tutorial on how to make a vegan Marzipan at home.
What is Marzipan?
Marzipan is a unique recipe made during the Christmas season. It is a classic savory confection prepared from sugar, egg whites, and almonds typically used in candies, truffles, cakes, and pastries. This sweet paste or dough can be prepared in no time in various ways effortlessly The Marzipan candies make an excellent Christmas gift.
Marzipan is a dough paste employed as an ingredient in baking cakes or cookies or making decorative and colorful candies. Food colorings are added and shaped into decorative figures; the pliable paste also allows you to roll or cut into different shapes to make candies, cakes, pastries, and desserts.
Sometimes it is dipped or layered with chocolates to make tasty Marzipan chocolate candies and is also typically used as a fondant replacement for cakes found in wedding cakes.
How to make Vegan Marzipan
Leaving aside the traditional Marzipan recipe, let us go for a simple but savory vegan Marzipan recipe, an egg-free method of making a delicious Marzipan quickly. You can substitute the eggs with corn syrup or golden syrup for making vegan Marzipan, but it is optional. You can still get a nice and tasty Marzipan with or without the corn syrup.
Almond powder (or cashew nuts/hazelnuts depending upon your choice)
Icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar/powdered sugar
Water or rose water (a few drops)
Vanilla or almond essence (for flavor)
To make a Marzipan paste or dough, follow the steps given below:
Soak the almonds for about 30 minutes in hot water. Next, empty excess water, then skin the blanched almonds, and pat dry them. Then, finely grind them in a mixer.
Sift and blend the almond powder and confectioner’s sugar in a bowl.
Add the vanilla extract.
Add a tiny amount of rose water for flavor.
Add a few drops of water and slowly knead it to thick and even dough, adding a bit at a time. Do not over-knead it.
Once done, wrap the dough in cling wrap and store it in the refrigerator until it is all set to use for later. It can be stored for up to six months if properly sealed. Or, start preparing Marzipan sweets from the dough straight away.
Pin this image if you liked the recipe or want to save it for later 🙂
Marzipan candies and Marzipan fruits:
Split the dough equally depending on how many colors and flavors you use.
Add colors of your preference and blend them well. To make Marzipan chocolate candies, add the desired amount of cocoa.
Dust confectioner’s sugar on the silicone molds and then fill up each section with a bit of the dough. Alternatively, you can cut and shape the sweets yourself.
Use the uncolored dough to cut it into fruit shapes, paint them and make Marzipan fruits.
Gently press the dough and chill the mold in the refrigerator for at least 10-15 minutes.
Once done, remove the candies from the silicone molds and leave them to dry for 3 to 4 hours at room temperature.
Do not cover or seal the sweets.
After 3 to 4 hours, store them in a sealed container for a week in a cool and dry place, then refrigerate for another 10 to 12 days or more.
You might also like: Creamy Vegan Lemon Bars
The vegan Marzipan recipe shows how quick and effortless it is to prepare at home with just a few ingredients. With the right ingredients and correct preparation, the almond-based Marzipan tastes delicious and nutty and will have that aromatic smell of the almonds. Still, if you are not a lover of almonds, you can replace them with cashew nuts or hazelnuts. There are varieties of vegan Marzipan recipes that you can explore to match your needs and suit the occasion.
All you need to do is collect these few ingredients, make a paste, knead the Marzipan dough evenly to get that fine texture and consistency, and make the desired shapes using Marzipan silicone molds.
Once finished, preserve the molds in an airtight container in a dark and cold place to prevent the Marzipan from getting hard.
This Vegan Marzipan recipe is egg-free, so it suits your vegan choice and is suitable for anyone allergic to eggs. Furthermore, making Marzipan at home is an excellent way to involve your children in this fun and productive activity during the Christmas holiday season.