This post may contain affiliate links
Are bagels vegan? I mean, they have to be, right? Of course, some types, like many baked foods, include undisclosed animal components, but you could still avoid them.
Knowledge is crucial when determining which of your favorite meals you can eat as a vegan. All those strange substances you’ve never given any thought to before? It’s time to get to know them, especially if you’re wondering if bagels are vegan.
What are bagels?
Let’s begin with the fundamentals. Bagels are circular bread pastries that resemble doughnuts in form. They are available in various flavors and can be purchased, produced at home, or created by hand. Cinnamon raisin, onion, and plain are among the most popular flavors.
Fillings, like the bread base, can be sweet or savory. While you would think that they’ll exclusively use vegan ingredients, certain bagel recipes include additions that aren’t vegan-friendly.
What distinguishes a bagel from a bread roll?
Bagels are prepared in a specific method to get the glossy outside and chewy inside that makes them so popular.
They’re made from a basic yeast dough that’s rolled, molded, and cooked before being dried and baked. It may appear time-consuming, but it is the only method to produce an authentic bagel. Even when baked, the crumb is rich and the dough chewy, giving it a dense yet tasty snack perfect for the morning or brunch.
What ingredients should I be aware of?
Whether you purchase vegan-friendly bagels depends on a variety of factors, including production processes, recipes, and suppliers. If you don’t realize it, the following might undermine your plant-based aims.
Even though it is not a black-and-white issue, most vegans prefer to omit honey from their diet. It’s used in certain bagels for color and sweetness, although most use barley malt alternatively.
Although it is not required to use eggs in bagel dough, some bakers like to do so because they believe it gives the bagel a richer, deeper flavor. However, this is not the usual, so double-check with the manufacturer if you’re unsure.
This amino acid, which comes from human hair and chicken feathers, is occasionally added to commercial dough to soften it and make it more malleable. It can be identified by its name or by the code E920.
Although there are plant-based options, you should look for vegan certification before purchasing. This is significantly more likely to be a problem with pre-packaged bagel varieties purchased from a supermarket.
Products made from milk
These are the ones who are the most devious! Casein, lactose, and whey should all be avoided. If you can’t find a label that says ‘dairy-free,’ you’ll have to go old school and look through the ingredients list.
How about toppings?
A bagel without garnishes is a sad situation. Bagels are often served with a dollop of soft cheese, but substitute it with vegan cream cheese, and you won’t notice the difference.
Deli-style bagels frequently come with a big side of meat. So unless you go to a bakery solely selling vegan cuisine, you’ll have to be picky about your accompaniments. Instead, stick to tried-and-true options like avocado, salad, and pickles.
Vegan-Friendly On-the-Go Bagel
Are you looking for a quick vegan bagel? The following restaurant franchises offer vegan alternatives.
Einstein Bagels is an excellent alternative for vegan bagel choices on the road. Vegan bagels include all of their Classic bagels and the majority of their Signature bagels. Here is a comprehensive list of dairy-free and vegan Einstein Bros Bagels:
Their Classic Bagels
- Ancient Grain
- Cinnamon Raisin
Their Signature Bagels
- Blue Berry
- Chocolate Chip
- French Toast
Their Thintastic Bagels
- Ancient Grain
- Whole Wheat
Their Gourmet Bagels
- Apple Cinnamon
- Power Protein
Einstein Bros. now sells vegan Daiya simple cream cheese in some supermarkets as of January 1st, 2019. Einstein Bros bagel’s nutrition and allergy information can be found here.
The world’s most famous coffee company offers several vegan alternatives. Their vegan alternatives include Blueberry, Plain, Sprouted Grain, and Raisin, as per their website.
Vegan options at Panera include Blueberry, Cranberry, Plain, Poppy-seed, and Walnut bagels. In addition, Panera features a plethora of vegan alternatives in addition to its bagels.
Vegan bagels are available on the menu at America’s favorite doughnut shop. Cinnamon Raisin, Everything, Garlic, Onion, Plain, Poppy-seed, Salt, and Sesame are among them.
Vegan-Friendly Grocery Store Bagels
Vegan bagel choices are available from several basic grocery store brands. Sara Lee and Thomas brand bagels are examples.
Aside from the “Soft & Smooth” flavors, Sara Lee’s bagels are vegan.
The majority of Thomas’ bagels, including bagel thins and small bagels, are vegan. Blueberry, Cinnamon Swirl, Cinnamon Raisin, Everything, Onion, Plain, Whole Grain, and 100 percent Whole Wheat are among their vegan varieties.
How can I confirm that I get a vegan bagel?
There is only one way to ensure that your bagels are vegan: to prepare them at home. You can be confident that only plant-based components are used in this manner. You may take your time trying different vegan recipes until you discover one that you enjoy.
Once you’ve mastered the fundamentals, you may start experimenting with different flavors, such as onion powder, dried chives, and cardamom. It’s also wise to learn how to make your own bagels for special dietary requirements.
If you can only consume gluten-free baked items, it will be difficult to locate large deli-style bagels that won’t make you sick, so why not create your own? On a Sunday morning, who needs the gourmet bagel and coffee run?
Things to keep in mind
If your morning bagel is a delicacy you can’t imagine giving up, but you still want to make sure you’re not straying from your vegan track, keep the following in mind:
When unsure, seek clarification
Even if a package does not specifically state that it is acceptable for vegans does not mean that you cannot consume it. Some businesses do not seek vegan certification and so do not wish to make any promises concerning compatibility. Read the ingredients and, if in doubt, contact the company. They should really be prepared to notify you if their manufacturing practices or ingredient list endangers your values.
Change up your toppings
To enjoy the whole bagel experience, spend some time searching for the best vegan cream cheese. There are many other kinds of cheese available now, and what you consider to be New York’s best may not be to someone else’s liking.
Don’t be afraid to make your own.
The shape-boil-bake method may appear complicated and complex, but it is not. So your bagels aren’t precisely round; who cares if they’re tasty?
So, bagels are vegan? Some are, and some aren’t, so always do your research before eating!